Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
I now see why Goldfinger wanted to be paid in gold.

2005-01-28 - 10:42 a.m.

When I came home from England a few weeks ago, I still had about thirty pounds worth of currency left in my wallet. I arrived at around midnight so the exchange place at the airport was closed. �No big deal,� I thought �I�ll just exchange it at the bank later.�

That was three weeks ago.

So this morning I decided I would actually go to the bank to cash a few expense checks and change out the damn Monopoly money still residing in my wallet. This quickly became an extremely frustrating situation (is there any other?).

The first problem was the checks. Since I decided to become an adult several years ago, I have come in contact with less actual �checks� than I had in the past, what with the direct deposit, internet banking, and ATMs, so this always confuses me. It seems that I always forget to write my account number on the check, and then frustrate the hell out of the teller when I ask her.

*Aside*

I don�t know this for a fact, but it seems that financial numbers come much easier to women than for men. Case in point; I once knew a woman that had memorized all of her credit card numbers, her bank account numbers, the retail price of every pair of shoes on the market, how much money a person need to make in order to date her, ect� But here�s the best part she had inadvertently committed all of these number to memory, and still could not multiply two digit numbers.

*End Aside*

Anyway, I assume the teller subscribed to a similar school of thought. We finished the checking transactions, and then I throw her a curve ball.

�Can I exchange these Pounds for Dollars?�

�Wha�Yeah�But�Sure, I just have to call and get the exchange rate. We don�t see a lot of this here.�

�No problem�

�It will take a few minutes?�

�That�s okay; they are useless to me as pounds.�

At this point the interrogation began. I thought she would, as she said, call and get the rate. Instead I got this.

�So why were you in England?�
�What is the time difference?
�Where did you stay?�
�Was it cold or sunny?�
�Exactly how big is your cock?�
�When did the sun go down?�
�What airline did you fly?�
�If a train left Chicago at 10:00 pm at 60mph and you ��

And it went on like this.

Then, when she was satisfied that I had indeed left the country, and was not laundering money for Dr. No thirty Pounds at a time she went to work.

For the next ten minutes she scrutinized the bills with some enormous book, checking the watermarks and shifting ink. When she was satisfied with this she made the call. Then she did the math and counted the money. I thought I was home free.

�Can I see you drivers license?�
�Can you give me your account number (remember she just gave it to me)?�
�Please sign here and can I get you thumb print here?�

I asked why she needed this info for a cash to cash transaction. She then told me that if the bills were not real they would take it out of my account and would be able to find me.

Nice.

I just can�t help but wonder.

What do they do if you ask to use the bathroom?



4 People felt the need for sassback

Stale - Fresh

YVAN EHT NIOJ! - 2006-08-10
That's Edutainment! - 2006-04-28
I hope this is on his college application - to Antioch - 2006-01-24
Lining the nightmare dream - 2005-12-21
The ultimate fuck you! - 2005-11-10


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Stylin and Profilin! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!